GE Free Comox Valley

Say No to GMO

Monthly Archives: September 2013

The Daily Show on Monsanto and Seed Patent Laws

The Daily Show on Monsanto and Seed Patent Laws

This is so accurate that it is hard to believe it a is a farce.

http://m.comedycentral.com/tds_video.rbml?id=monsanto—seed-patent-laws&nbck=999-001-001

Advertisements

UBCM Voted YES to a GE Free BC

UBCM Voted YES to a GE Free BC

Union of BC Municipalities have voted YES to the following resolution: “that UBCM ask the British Columbia government to legislate the prohibition of importing, exporting and growing plants and seeds containing genetically engineered DNA, and raising GE animals within BC, and to declare, through legislation, that BC is a GE Free area in respect to all plant and animal species.”

Many thanks to the many people who devoted their time so faithfully to make this happen.

GE Opinion Poll

GE Opinion Poll

The Comox Valley Record wants to know Are you concerned about eating genetically modified food?

Follow the link above and scroll to the bottom of the page to share your opinion.

Share with your friends.

 

Council Meetings Tonight – Sept 9

Council Meetings Tonight - Sept 9

GE Watch Comox Valley will be sending delegations to Courtenay and Comox Council, tonight, Sept 9. If possible, PLEASE COME AND SUPPORT THE DELEGATIONS and show council you SUPPORT A GE FREE BC.

Courtenay Council delegation will be at Courtenay Municipal Hall at 830 Cliffe Avenue
Courtenay at 4:30 pm

Cumberland Council delegation will be at Council Chamber at 2675 Dunsmuir Avenue, Cumberland at 5:30 pm

The Union of BC Municipalities are holding a vote on September 18, 2013 to decide if they will ask the provincial government to ban GE crops in BC.  This is a very important vote and we need to show all the support we can to our municipal councils so they will know how we feel and will be more likely to support the resolution .

This is what happened at the Comox Council meeting on Sept 4 

Share this post and BRING YOUR FRIENDS – LET’S FILL THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS

GE Watch Delegation at Comox Council

GE Watch Delegation at Comox Council

Please read the article printed in the Comox Valley Echo regarding the GE Watch delegation that went to the Comox Council meeting.  This is a great time to express your views with a letter to the editor or an email to Comox Council members.  The UBCM vote is very important and could set a trend for other provinces.

You can click on the links below or you can highlight all the text below and copy and paste it into your email program.

Mayor Paul Ives pives@comox.ca
Councillor Patty Fletcher pfletcher@comox.ca
Councillor Ken Grant kgrant@comox.ca
Councillor Tom Grant tgrant@comox.ca
Councillor Hugh MacKinnon hmackinnon@comox.ca
Councillor Barbara Price bprice@comox.ca
Councillor Maureen Swift mswift@comox.ca